What is Astrology?

“As above, so below, as within, so without, as the universe, so the soul.” – Hermes Trismegistus

All things in the universe are connected and in relationship with one another. Somehow, since the dawn of time, mankind has intuitively known this. Technically, astrology is the study of the correlation between the heavenly bodies and events on Earth. Astrologers use a combination of scientific knowledge about the cosmos, scientific tools, intuition, and psychology. Astrology works with energy patterns, with a basis in the elements, similar to the studies of yoga, feng shui, numerology, crystal healing, and acupuncture. It focuses on relationships, patterns, and cycles and opens doors to understanding our psychological nature. Astrology moves us past the surface-level focus on what we’re doing to why we’re doing it and into the deeper need or desire beneath. This type of understanding leads to increased acceptance, compassion, sense of meaning and purpose, and inspiration to evolve.

According to Carl Jung, our Soul speaks to us through the language of images and symbols. Astrological planets are archetypal symbols. Astrology provides techniques for receiving and translating concepts and knowledge in ways our human minds can understand. In many ways, it’s a bridge connecting the many parts with the whole, the micro and macrocosm, our conscious and unconscious mind. Some people believe the planets cause events, circumstances, and feelings. Another perspective is that the planets provide a mirror or reflection, reflecting the energy below. The cosmos have eternally filled us with curiosity and awe. Through the practice of astrology, we continue to watch the nighttime sky for answers, guidance, and timeless wisdom.

“Astrology has been the first and most universal attempt by man to find the hidden order behind or within the confusion of the earthly jungle – physical or psychological, as the case may be.” – Dane Rudhyar

What's a Birth Chart? 

A birth chart or natal chart is an astrological chart showing the relative position of planets, angles, points, other heavenly bodies, and the zodiac signs at the exact moment of birth. The birth chart is calculated using the date, exact time, and place of birth.

The zodiac sign the Sun was in the moment you were born (your Sun sign) reflects your sense of purpose and how you’re meant to shine in the world. Your Moon sign reflects your emotional nature, natural instincts, reactions, and your mystery. Your rising sign, or ascendant, is the zodiac sign that was rising on the eastern horizon at the moment you were born. Your rising sign reflects the way you spontaneously approach life – how you show up in the moment and the first impression you make on others.

Astrology can illuminate many things about you, but you’re the most important part of your chart – your level of consciousness, how you’re working with your energy, and how you choose to experience your circumstances. Your birth chart reflects your energy, habits, needs, patterns, communication style, desires, memories, feelings, thoughts, challenges, dreams….and so much more. It’s a wonderful tool for understanding yourself and others. While astrology reveals many things about you, your birth chart doesn’t tell you who you are. It’s important to remember that you’re the one creating your life. Astrology doesn’t happen to you. It is you. And when you work with it, your life and the world around you change.

Learn More About Astrology

The twelve signs of the zodiac form a wheel, representing the continuous cycle of life, from birth to death, into birth again. The wheel begins with Aries and culminates with Pisces. What’s it like to be a Leo? To be best friends with a Virgo? To fall in love with a Sagittarius? To go into business with a Capricorn? You’ll find the answers along with in-depth information for each sign in my one-hour classes. Just click on any of the images below for a brief overview of that sign and a link to the free video class. I’ve been an astrology aficionado for over 20 years, and in a reading, almost everyone asks about love. To learn more about astrology and relationships, watch my video The Magic of Astrology: Zodiac Compatibility for Love.

If you don’t know your Sun, Moon, and rising signs, I recommend studying your full birth chart before watching these FREE classes. Click the icon below to view the class.

You can get your chart done for free online.

Free Aries Class:

Free Taurus Class:

Free Gemini Class:

Free Cancer Class:

Free Leo Class:

Free Virgo Class:

Free Libra Class:

Free Scorpio Class:

Free Sagittarius Class:

Free Capricorn Class:

Free Aquarius Class:

Free Pisces Class: